2018 Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to the 2018 Nominees!

By Beth Dobos

Each year, World Tea Expo awards a tea industry leader with the ‘John Harney Lifetime Achievement Award’ for their unique contributions to advancing the business of tea. World Tea Expo’s Advisory Board, which consists of 11 tea industry professionals, has chosen this year’s 19 nominees.

The Advisory Board’s selection criteria, among many other considerations, took into consideration each nominee’s impact on the tea industry on both the local and global scales. This year’s nominees comprise a diverse group of tea business experts who share a passion for tea. World Tea Expo congratulates all the nominees on behalf of this esteemed industry award and supports their valuable contributions.

Brian Keating, tea industry liaison and coordinator of the World Tea Expo Advisory Board notes, “The 2018 nominees for the annual World Tea Expo, Lifetime Achievement Award, represent an exceptional diversity of tea industry pioneers and entrepreneurs from all over the world. The tea industry applauds all of their tireless efforts towards the advancement and promotion of tea. We look forward to the award ceremony in June where the 2018 winner shall be announced.”

The winner of the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced at World Tea Expo’s Opening Night Cocktail Reception on June 12, 2018 at the Las Vegas Convention Center’s South Hall. The award is named after Harney & Sons’ Founder, John Harney.

2018 John Harney Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees:

Rajah Banerjee Founder - Makaibari Tea Estate
Dan Bolton Editor/Publisher - Tea Journey Magazine
Charlie Cain Principal & Executive Consultant -- Building Oz
Babette Donaldson Founder - International Tea Sippers Society
Kevin Gascoyne Owner - Camellia Sinensis
Sanjay Guha International Tea Consultant 
Richard Guzauskas Consultant/ Specialty Tea Industry
Manik Jayakumar Founder & CEO -- Qtrade Teas & Herbs
Nigel Melican Managing Director - Teacraft Ltd.
Jane Pettigrew Author & Speaker - Jane Pettigrew
Bruce Richardson Author /Publisher -  Benjamin Press
Louise Roberge President - Tea Association of Canada
Ron Rubin Minister of Tea & Chief Executive Officer - The Republic of Tea
David Segal Co-Founder & Brand Ambassador (Retired) - David's Tea
Thomas Shu Owner - JT & Tea Inc.
Tim Smith Chief Leaf - The Tea Smith LLC
Abigail St. Clair Owner - TeBella Tea Company
Maria Uspenski Founder - The Tea Spot
Bill Waddington Founder & President - TeaSource